Tribute to Harry and Sally..

tumblr_mt4mopXeir1shvdp9o1_500

Sadly, this is one of the nights, that smokes and alcohol, don’t seem to be doing the trick… You just want to remember again, how it is to actually believe in love. And since I am not really that close to love’s abracadabra, it seemed like peeking into my favourite love story would make it all better. And my beautiful readers, it absolutely did!

When Harry Burns meets Sally Albright. People, who couldn’t once in a million think of even remotely being with each other, but love happens. I know it’s cheesy to think that this relationship would be possible in real life, but then again why? Why do we make it so hard? Why can’t we let it lie?? Nah but we almost never let it lie! No fun in that..!

Complicating things is what is all about now! If things are way too normal, we get cranky, we don’t like “easy” we need the effort. Well here I am and I am saying it, I want to skip the difficult part and go right in the end. When everything is absolutely figured out! And like Harry said and I quote “You just get to a certain point where you get tired of the whole thing.  The whole life-of-a-single-guy thing. You meet someone, you have the safe lunch, you decide you like each other enough to move on to dinner. You go dancing, you do the white-man’s over-bite, go back to her place, you have sex and the minute you’re finished you know what goes through your mind? How long do I have to lie here and hold her before I can get up and go home. Is thirty seconds enough?” Is thirty seconds enough??? Well well well NO. Oh, and being with someone just to be with him a couple, someone that you can go places with or someone or just a date on national holidays! No I want the end, where the one that I have chosen is already close to me. It’s kinda childish.. so what?

8 thoughts on “Tribute to Harry and Sally..

  1. Nομίζω ταιριάζει στο νόημα:

    “Είναι δύσκολοι καιροί για την αγάπη, τι ψάχνεις?
    Aν δε το προσπαθείς επίμονα κάπου τη χάνεις, με πιάνεις?
    Aν δεν το κυνηγήσεις είσαι τίποτα και μες στο τίποτα ζητάς το κάτι.”

      • Σίγουρα, εν τέλει η ισορροπία είναι ζητούμενο σε τέτοιες καταστάσεις. Δυστυχώς, καμιά φορά η φύση του ανθρώπου κάνει τα αυτονόητα να φαίνονται δύσκολα. Από την άλλη ευτυχώς, όσο ζούμε, μαθαίνουμε και γινόμαστε καλύτεροι, μαθαίνουμε να φερόμαστε και να σεβόμαστε τα “θέλω” των άλλων… Αρκεί να μην είναι αργά μέχρι τότε…

  2. Νομίζω, ότι παρότι το ονομάζει διαφορετικά ο καθένας μας, αυτό που πιθανότατα να καταλαμβάνει σημαντική θέση στην κάθε επιλογή μας, είναι η προηγούμενη ή/και η υποσχόμενη εμπειρία που συνεπάγεται της επιλογής αυτής. Ως κατεξοχήν χρονικά όντα, επειδή έχουμε συναίσθηση του χρόνου, επιθυμούμε να ονοματίζουμε τα πράγματα, να τα ταξινομούμε σαν εμπειρίες και αναμνήσεις, ώστε να τα αποκρυσταλλώνουμε στον χρόνο. Η αντίληψη μας σαν ιστορικά όντα κανονικά είναι ευθύγραμμη, αλλά ως ψυχικά όντα είναι φυσικότερη η κυκλική οδός, αυτή της επανάληψης. Της αιώνιας επιστροφής στο γνώριμο.
    Το παιχνίδι που προηγείται της σχέσης (εφόσον καταλήξη σε τέτοια) δεν είναι παρά μια εμπειρία και ταυτοχρόνως μια υπόσχεση εμπειριών. Είναι μία δοκιμή δυνατοτήτων και συνάμα μία παρουσίαση του εαυτού μας.
    Φαντάζομαι ότι μιά μακρά διάρκεια αυτού του παιχνιδιού (φλέρτ;) μπορεί να δυσαρεστεί κάποιους, αλλά η αρχή είναι πάντα το πιό όμορφο μέρος όπως λέει και ο Tim Buckley,

    This little man had to try
    To make love feel new again.

    • Αιώνια επιστροφή στο γνώριμο! το σημειώνω αυτό το σχόλιο μου άρεσε πολύ.
      Και ναι η αρχή είναι το πιο όμορφο μέρος, όταν είσαι έτοιμος να την δεχτείς. Όταν πια σε αφήσουν οι προηγούμενες εμπειρίες σου να ανοιχθείς σε κάτι νέο, διαφορετικό. Δεν γίνεται να ξεκινήσεις όμως κάτι καινούριο όταν ακόμη σε εμποδίζει το παρελθόν σου.

      I saw love disfigure me
      Into something I am not recognizing
      I will not open myself up this way again

  3. To me heaven lies in finding your Harry or Sally. If you can find that special someone that makes your chest pound and your knees bend every time you see them,someone you know you want to spend the rest your life with, then you should chase that person, because your happiness depends in having them in your life!
    And I know I’m excluding many other factors that even the most apathetic feminist woman or lone wolf would throw at my face…
    But I personally believe that finding someone to love and love you back is the first big thing anyone does…
    If someone can’t take me to the end you mentioned,at least tell me that there is one,because I’m in a place where I’m starting to lose faith in what Harry and Sally have taught me!
    Sorry if I’m all over the place here…estrogens 😛 Obviously I have them now:P

Comment my little antithetic readers!

