While waiting..

zurich

While waiting for my flight to London I pretty much had nothing to do really, so I just started reading a book, but that didn’t last for long, it was way too noisy, so I end up staring at everyone around me. Making little stories in my head, about little secrets they could be having, or simple stories, like where they were heading to. I always pay attention to some more than others. There are always some tourists, wandering around. Those are the ones that always seem more interesting rather than others.

The one that almost immediately caught my attention was a man around 35. I saw him taking pictures of the sea with a really good camera, he seemed to know what he was doing there. He was wearing a grey Indiana Jones kind of hat, a white shirt, a grey vest above and some denim Leggins. He had one of those hollywoodian long beards and he was wearing a camera around his neck. He was probably alone there. He came and sat right next to me.

Well now at this point I was really interested in getting to now him, but I didn’t seem to find anything interesting to open a conversation with. So I just, stared at the book I had on my lap, The Book of Disquiet by Fernando Pessoa. And, that was when he probably noticed me. He said in a British accent that this is one of his favourite books! He knelt at his satchel, and brought exactly the same copy of the book, which I noticed it was pretty worn off.

And that’s how we spent the next half hour, with thoughts, books and poems we love. At this point, it was time for me to check in, so I had to end the conversation. I stood up smiled and said that I had to go, but it was nice meeting him. He also stood up,  grabed the book of my hands opened it, and gave it back to me. He said that this one was his favourite part, and he made me promise that I will check it as soon as I was home, but not before that. I smiled and left. I forgot all about that of course, till the next day. I did what he said only to find out that there was a piece of paper in the middle of the pages, with his name and his phone number.

18 thoughts on “While waiting..

      • Επειδη ειναι σνομπ! Τα περισσοτερα ειναι ακατανοητα και τα ακουσα πρωτη φορα στο σχολειο….τραυματικη εμπειρια! Δεν μου εχουν μιλησει ακομα τα αφηρημενα νοηματα τους!
        Παρολλα αυτα εχω παρατηρησει πως η συχρονη ποιηση που εχει “υποθεση” δεν μου χτυπαει τοσο ασχημα! 😛

  1. Έλα ρε!! Άμα σου συνέβη αυτο να ξέρεις είσαι περίπτωση (με την καλη έννοια). Εδω που ειμαι τέτοια πράγματα με τίποτα!!

    New antithetic reader

      • όχι! Κατινάκι είναι το καλλιτεχνικό μου!!
        Θα είχε ενδιαφέρον πάντως αν επικοινωνούσες!!

        • Ισχύει.. αλλά ειλικρινά δεν είμαι καλή σε αυτά, οπότε το αφήνω στην τύχη του, ποιος ξέρει, ίσως συναντηθούμε τυχαία στην Κορνουάλη ή στο Σιάμ. Αφού ξεκίνησε έτσι θα ήταν καλύτερο αν είναι να συνεχιστεί να συνεχιστεί εξίσου μαγικά!

  2. Wow!!!! how awesome! i believe that the best scripts are written by life!!
    I got one important message from your story, education is the key for everything good!! Σ’ ευχαριστουμε Ηλιανα που το μοιραστηκες μαζι μας!! 🙂

    • Μεταξύ μας τώρα αυτό, fellow κρητικιά, είπαμε να το πάμε πιο ρομαντικά, και θα συναντηθούμε την άλλη εβδομάδα στο Παρίσι.. μελό ναι.. αλλά ταιριάζει στην όλη ρομαντικότητα της υπόθεσης…. Οπότε από την επόμενη Δευτέρα με λίγη έμπνευση από την δέκατη μούσα θα υπάρχει επόμενο αρθράκι..

      Χαιρετίσματα από Ρέθυμνο!

      • Τελικά ίσως είναι καρμικά αυτά, ε; Τι πιστεύεις; 🙂

        ΥΓ Αχ! Ρέθυμνο, ε; Να πω ότι σε ζηλεύω, θα’ναι λίγο. Φιλιά στην ιδιαίτερη Πατρίδα μου! 🙂

        • μμμμ Υπάρχει και αυτή η περίπτωση, είναι όμορφο να φανταζόμαστε πως όλα αυτά είναι κάπως προκαθορισμένα.

          Πάντοτε όμως χρειάζεται να βάλουμε κι εμείς και ένα χεράκι… Τι στο καλό, δεν γίνεται να τα περιμένουμε όλα από το κάρμα, το κισμέτ το πεπρωμένο, το timing ή όπως το λένε…

          Δεν θα ξεκινήσω να σου αναφέρω πόσο σε ζηλεύω που ζεις στην Αυστραλία… Δεν θα ήθελα να απασχολώ ιντερνετικούς πόρους, μπας και φτάσουμε στο singularity καμιά μέρα νωρίτερα!

Comment my little antithetic readers!

